The Ibero-American animation Quirino Awards have announced the finalist works in the nine categories of its second edition, that will be held next April 6th in Santa Cruz de Tenerife (Spain). The announcement has been made this afternoon at Casa de América in Madrid, in a press conference where; ICAA general director, Beatriz Navas Valdés; Silvia Barraclough, ICEX, Spain Trade and Investment’s Head of Video Games, Animation & VR Sector; Elena Vilardell, Technical and Executive Secretary of the Ibermedia Program; Alberto Bernabé, Vice President of Cabildo de Tenerife and Tourism, Internacionalization and Exterior Action Counselor; Antonio Pérez-Hernández Torra, Casa de América General Director; Carlos Biern, DIBOOS President; and Jose Luis Farias, Quirino Awards Coordinator; besides representatives of the Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Mexico and Portugal embassies have participated.

A total of twenty-five works from seven countries from the region will aim for the statuettes of this second edition. Productions from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Mexico, Portugal and Spain will opt for the Quirino Awards in the nine categories of a selection that reflects the international projection of Ibero-American animation and that counts with a wide representation of works oriented to a young and adult audience.

The Spanish animation is the most represented with 13 nominations while Brazil presents 7 finalists, followed by Colombia (5), Argentina (4), Chile (4), Portugal (3) and Mexico (1).

The Spanish short film “La noria” is the one with more nominations (3), followed closely by the Chilean series “Paper port 2nd season – The Lives of Others” and the Colombian feature film “Tropical Virus”, with two nominations each.

The selection has been made by an international jury integrated by the director and script-writer Alê Abreu, the Pixar character art director Deanna Marsigliese, the producer Gustavo Ferrada, the Sola Media sales director Barbie Heusinger and the Xilam Animation head of development Marie-Laurence Turpin. The biographies of the jury can be consulted here.

The four feature films that go for the Quirino Award are: the Spanish “Another Day of Life” and “Buñuel in the Labyrinth of the Turtles”; the Brazilian “Tito and the Birds” and the Colombian “Tropical Virus”. For its part, the finalist series are the Chilean “Petit” and the second season of “Paper Port – The Lives of Others” (the first season was finalist for the Quirino Awards 2018) and the Brazilian “Jorel’s Brother – Be Broccoli!”.

In the short film category, the candidates are: the Spanish “La noria” and “Mum’s the Word” and the Brazilian “Guaxuma”. For its part, in the school short films category, the finalists are the Portuguese “The Hat”, the Mexican “Reverie” and the Spanish “Patchwork”.

In addition, other 16 works opt to the Quirino Award in the innovative works, commissioned films, visual development, animation design and sound design and original music categories. The list of all the finalist works can be found here.

The second edition of the Quirino Awards received a total of 244 works from 16 countries.

The Co-production Forum call is still open

The Ibero-American Animation Quirino Awards keep the call to participate in the co-production and business forum open, professional activity that will take place on April 5th and 6th.

The pre-submission for the Co-production Forum, aimed to Ibero-American, or with an interest in this region, companies, production companies or TV channels, is open until next February 22nd. The meeting will congregate professionals from the region in B2B meetings, round tables and conferences in which the state of the industry in the different territories will be discussed. This year the forum has, as a novelty, the participation and sponsorship of ICEX Spain Trade and Investment and Animation From Spain.

Among the first participants of the co-production forum is Discovery Kids, Cartoon Network, RTP, RTVE, CLAN Internacional, Sola Media, Indie Sales, PlayKids, Cake Entertainment, Dandelooo, Autour de Minuit, Xilam Animation and Ikki Films; as well as representatives of the animation production associations: DIBOOS, GEMA Colombia, Animar Cluster – Argentinian Cluster of Animation & VFX and ABCA – Brazilian Association of Animation Cinema, among others.

Last year, around 350 meetings were made, and professionals from 20 countries participated.

Quirino Awards

The awards are named in honour of the creator of the first animated feature film, the Italian-Argentinian Quirino Cristiani, who in 2917 directed “El Apóstol”; an Argentinian production where 58.000 handmade drawings in 35 mm were used besides several miniatures that represented public buildings and the streets of the city of Buenos Aires.

In 2018, the Mexican feature film “Ana and Bruno” by Carlos Carrera, the series “The Tiniest Man in the World” by the Argentine Juan Pablo Zaramella and the Spanish short film “Decorado” by Alberto Vázquez were the works recognized in the main categories.

The Quirino Awards, which have Cabildo de Tenerife as its main sponsor through the Tenerife Film Commission, reflect the determined commitment that is being made for the animation for years on the island. This commitment is also materialized in concrete actions to support the flourishing local industry, attendance to the main international markets and the promotion of the brand “Tenerife Isla Cartoon”, specific for this sector.

The initiative also count on the sponsorship of ICEX Spain Trade and Investment, Town Hall of Santa Cruz de Tenerife and Tenerife Espacio de las Artes (TEA), Iberia Express, HP and Tangram Solutions; the collaboration of ICAA, AECID, Ibermedia Program, Fundación Cultural Hispano Brasileña, Brazil Embassy, Auditorium of Tenerife, University of La Laguna and RTVE; and the support of DIBOOS, SAVE, Pixelatl, 3D Wire, Ventana Sur Animation!, La Liga de la Animación Iberoamericana, Tenerife Moda, Annecy Festival, and Polytechnique University of Valencia, as well as the associations: APA – Asociación de Productoras de Animación of Córdoba Argentina; ANIMAR CLUSTER – Argentinian Cluster of Animation & VFX; ABCA – Associação Brasileira de Cinema de Animação; Animachi Chile; GEMA Colombia – Grupo de Empresarios de Animación; Gremio de Animadores of Ecuador; ACDMX – Asociación de Creativos Digitales of México; Perú Animación and Casa da Animaçao of Portugal.

Utilizamos cookies propias y de terceros para mejorar nuestros servicios y mostrarle publicidad relacionada con sus preferencias mediante el análisis de sus hábitos de navegación. Si continua navegando, consideramos que acepta su uso. Más Información

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.